Synopsis

1h32m | Horror, Thriller

Busi, a destitute young woman crippled by dangerously suppressed emotions, lands a job as a cleaner at a rundown hospital in the heart of Johannesburg. Desperate to gain some control over her life and come to terms with the circumstances that led to her sister’s suicide, she tries to make do under the predatory and corrupt hospital foreman.

When Busi realises a little girl in the hospital, seemingly plagued by a supernatural force, is in the same danger she found herself in, she must find the courage to save the child from the abusive monster. Busi must face her own demons from her past to save the child from the monster that pursues them both relentlessly.

It’s while Busi is cleaning in the darkest recesses of the hospital that she discovers all is not as it seems with the place – AIDS orphans creep around with an imaginary friend; the nurses have raised the children’s beds onto bricks to protect them from a Tokoloshe, and Busi can’t be sure if the bumps she hears at night are just from a creaking old hospital or if the place is haunted.

‘The Tokoloshe’ is a psychological thriller in the tradition of ‘Repulsion’, ‘The Shining’ and ‘Pan’s Labyrinth’.